Current Projects

BOOKS

To date, I've written four books:

I am currently seeking representation for my historical romance novel, The Summer Club, which is similar in time period, setting, and overarching themes to A Hundred Summers (by Beatriz Williams) and The Subway Girls (by Susie Orman Schnall).

Summary: One night, at a seaside jazz café called the Summer Club, Jackie Sherman catches the amber eyes of a familiar stranger. Startled by the pull she feels toward him, she follows him out to the edge of the ocean, where he reveals that in another life, she knew him intimately as her first love. Jackie, who has no explicit memory of this man, Adam Crestfield, is then presented with a choice: the opportunity to experience the entirety of her relationship with Adam in comparison with the life she chose as another man's wife – and, subsequently, the opportunity to choose a different course. This 82,000-word novel spans four years of Jackie's life as she navigates two passionate romances, the world of glitzy Manhattan wealth, and excursions to Boston, Hyannis Port, and Positano, all while tirelessly pursuing her dream of higher education and a writing career at the cusp of 1950.

My debut New Adult novel, Closure, is now available in paperback and Kindle format.

"A thoughtful read from an up-and-coming author. Todd will have you smiling and reflecting within the same moment."—New York Times Bestselling Author Elizabeth Marcolini

"The author has been successful in scattering shining pearls of Catholic wisdom throughout the novel." —Project Lily

For Morgan, Philadelphia isn't "just" a city. It can never, will never, be "just" a city again.

From ordering cookies at a food truck at 2 a.m., to wading barefoot in a fountain near the famous Rocky statue, to drunk grocery shopping and midnight serenades, Wade is the center of Morgan's world. However, from the beginning, they face an irreconcilable difference that threatens to tear their relationship apart: though they were both born and raised Catholic, Morgan cares about her beliefs, and Wade resents them. When Morgan begins making her values a priority, confusion and bitterness surface as both parties struggle to accept that their once-perfect relationship is no longer a guarantee.

Years later, when Morgan revisits the city that has always been able to crack her heart wide open, she learns that closure can come in unexpected forms, and that sometimes, destiny lends itself to the most perfect of goodbyes between two people who really loved each other.

Perfect for fans of Jill Santopolo's The Light We Lost and Daniel Handler's Why We Broke Up, this breathtaking, heart-wrenching, and tumultuous debut novel will resonate with anyone who's ever had a first love they believed would last forever, and addresses the hard reality that growing up in a relationship ultimately means growing together or growing apart.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:

"CLOSURE is something we have all felt and been through."

"A 21st-century love story that understands the excitement of small thrills in romance and young love...to the later, heart-dropping moments of that matured love, like the search for God and meaning."

"I found myself drifting back to my own love history and feeling the narrator's tears in my own eyes."

"A debut novel that expresses the whole gamut of emotions experienced in a romantic relationship."

"Todd has a way of stringing each word and sentence together that makes you want to just keep reading and reading, and never put the book down."

"One of the best novels I've read about relationships and faith."

"Spectacular."

"A story that will touch all who read it."

My spiritual self-help booklet, "Freedom to Love", is currently available through Amazon and Kindle, and has been endorsed by Jason Evert and Pam Stenzel – both famous speakers and writers – to their social media followers. Freedom to Love explains the rationale behind pure dating relationships, and is written in a young voice geared toward other young adults. It offers a personal testimony, in addition to objective facts and guidance, about dating to fill a void, understanding authentic love, walking away from a relationship, and beginning the process of healing after a break-up. This book is an extension of several articles I've written for Jason Evert's website, The Chastity Project, through which I've received thousands of responses from other Catholic young adults seeking further direction (see next section).

My travel guide, "50 Travel Tips from a Local - Greater Than a Tourist: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania", was published in January, 2019 by CZYK Publishing. I was commissioned by this independent publishing press to write about my city, Philadelphia, from the perspective of a local. The result is a personalized and unique guide to the City of Brotherly Love.

My first book of poetry, "Soul of a Small Town Girl" is now available in paperback on Amazon. This chapbook explores the universal themes of love, faith, and identity, representing different stages in my life and ultimately spanning the last five years of my experiences, memories, and emotions. "Blurbs" from the book can be found on the top half of the "Excerpts & Blurbs" page of this site.


ARTICLES

Chastity Project

I am an active blogger for The Chastity Project, a ministry started by Jason and Crystalina Evert, which promotes purity in dating relationships to young people all around the world. You can find my articles below:

Thought Catalog

I also blog for Thought Catalog, a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to the ideas and stories of the millennial generation. My work featured on Thought Catalog may be found below: